8 of my Favourite Coming-of-Age Novels

I’m not sure what it is about teenage angst and romance that cheers me up on a dreary day but boy does it! I guess the main appeal is that they are so relatable and more often than none, have a happy ending. Anyway, I realised that a handful of my favourite novels are coming of age books and thought I’d eternalise my feelings about them here – in no particular order.

perks2
Of course The Perks of Being a Wallflower was going to be included in this post. I know everyone says this about the books they enjoy but I literally didn’t put this book down until I had read every last word – and then continued to sit in awe of what I had read, experiencing that horrid feeling of finishing a book which I can only liken to losing a friend. I was happy and full of optimism yet gutted that I’d never find out the next instalment. It’s an emotional rollercoaster and I feel as though sometimes it helps to board someone else’s and be assured that everyone has crap days but in the end you just have to keep plodding along.

about 1

About a Boy is the feel good story that everyone needs to read; two characters that are complete opposites coming together to improve each other’s lives without the foggiest idea that they’ve even changed their morning routine – until of course the end in which everyone lives happily ever after. Classic. This book seems to make the hormonal days of adolescence seem dramatic – not that they are of course, it is most definitely a time in which everything sucks and your parents are actively trying to ruin your life Whenever I read About a Boy I get an overwhelming sense of positivity and am reassured that everything will be a-okay!

Quentin-Blake-Matilda-3

Matilda is everything; a ton of books, cottages with gorgeous flowery gardens and gigantic chocolate cakes. Seriously, what more could anyone want? This book is particularly personal to me as I re-read it and watched the film around 4 times a week for about 6 years. (But I think I speak for many of the people in my generation when saying that.) Roald Dahl is a genius and so much of his work is brilliant – Matilda is just a personal favourite of mine.

HP

I feel as if this is a bit of a cop-out but Harry Potter is excellent and that will never change! Opening a HP book takes me right back to being 11 years old and waiting excitedly for the next instalment, running straight back to my house to read it and refusing to do anything else – except texting my friends about how much I was crying about the death of Dobby and Fred of course. (and everyone else that very unfortunately lost their lives in the war against Voldemort. R.I.P)

Angus
I think I speak for every girl my age when I say that Georgia Nicolson just understood me and the difficulties of being 14. I’m so tempted to buy these books and laugh about the stories I used to love so much; feeling so mature reading about boys and god forbid – thongs. This whole series was just perfect and yes I did get very excited that the film was filmed in Eastbourne/Brighton.

Update: I have purchased the book and am full of excitement.

one-da_482

One Day is just lovely. I’m invested in the characters, I’m on the edge of my seat throughout, I am desperate for them to find happiness. It epitomises the struggles of a twenty something person trying to find their calling and fulfilment in the first decade of their adult life. It brings comfort that not everyone falls into a job straight outta Compton Uni and mystically lives happily ever after whilst reinforcing ideas of true friendship and cherishing the wonderful people in your life. I could read it a thousand times more with pleasure.

Holes

When reading Holes I am transported to a tiny grey classroom – in the midst of puberty surrounded by my closest friends – discovering that English is something I’d love to study. Covered in eyeliner and worshipping My Chemical Romance but happier than ever. Mostly for this reason it has made the list but it is a truly fantastic novel.

catcher

I know that this book is on every single one of these lists but there’s a good reason for that. I read Catcher in the Rye for the first time during my first year of University – the perfect time to read a book that’s filled with so much confusion regarding the future. I finished it in around four train journeys and felt close to Holden and much more carefree about adulthood and fulfilling the expectations of others. Catcher in the Rye may be mentioned a bit too much and is a popular favourite but it’s for the sole reason that it’s a bloody brilliant book.

So these are a handful of my favourite books, as well as being excellent tales I think they have bought me comfort at certain less than peachy times throughout the past 21 years. There are so many other books that follow similar themes that I’m looking forward to reading, holla at me with some suggestions and I’ll make sure I check them out.

Leave a Reply

